Skip to content

Moving forward – becoming the "career college librarian"

July 13, 2011

I’m still an infant with this blogging thing.  If you’ve read my first post, Blogging Rational or my About page then you know I’m a librarian.  I had this crazy itch to get in on the “conversation” but wasn’t sure what to focus on.  I think like most librarians my interests are wide and varied, it’s part of why I like my job so much.  I mean what isn’t relevent to the library? 🙂

In the time before I took the plunge and actually started the blog I continually talked myself out of writing about my field.  I would say things to myself like; “another library blog?”, “what do you really have to add that’s interesting”, “your colleagues will turn away because of the type of library you represent.”, and much more.  With all that floating in my head I thought I would instead just get into it, test the waters and see what develops.  I’ve started to get the hang of it a little more each day and found that the little itch with writing about my field wouldn’t go away.  I needed to speak from my professional place.  So, with some shaky confidence I’m going to do just that and hope that what I have to say represents my particular sector of librarianship in a new way.  I hope that bridges will be built between members of my profession and that I can help define the type of college library I work in; maybe even help define this sector of higher education all together.

So the messages and probably the look of the blog will be changing over the coming months.  I’m going to publicly declare myself as a Career College Librarian with pride because it is with pride that I function in my career.  My following here is still small but I hope that those from my field that don’t know much about the for-profit college library stay and find out more.  You will be surprised.  My goal here is to raise some awareness.  For-profit colleges are growing steadily in the U.S. and abroad, I want the impression of our role in those institutions to be seen with respect, like all librarians wish to be seen.  As the entire future of our profession changes I believe it’s vital we reach out in new ways and collaborate with new partners.  I want to help mold a critical component to every college in an area where we haven’t always been represented.

I encourage you to join me, actually I encourage you to help me.  I’ll need opinions, perspectives, critics and supporters.  I’m looking for mentors, role models, peers, and maybe even adversaries.  🙂  I don’t want to blog about my day on the clock.  I want to bring awareness to a sector of librarianship that gets very little attention and who needs a lot.

So there you go.  The future of this blog in less than 500 words.  I welcome your thoughts and questions.  I’m in this to grow and learn even more than I am to demonstrate so don’t hold back.

Cheers!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 13, 2011 12:16 pm

    What is so unique about blogging (today’s version of the Op-Ed) is that there is always room for new voices. What you represent that is so unique though is an unapologetic, confident, proud, voice that guarantees authenticity and transparency from your very first post.

    You are right in that career colleges are growing. And rightfully so. The marketplace no longer rewards a traditional bachelor’s degree and not even a master’s degree can assure placement now. But a trade or skill that is useful in our economy can and I think that is what I hear you saying.

    As for the library…well, who can’t use a good library? From my vantage point I like the thoughts of libraries because they allow access to information and resources that people cannot always afford on their own or don’t see the sustainability (as is my case) of buying a book for a one-time read and then tossing it.

    I look forward to reading what you have to say about the relevancy of the library as we are smack dab in the middle of the information age!

  2. Tracy K. permalink
    July 17, 2011 10:04 am

    Congrats on the blog. I think you will find blogging to be a great way to express yourself and enhance your writing. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. No patrons in the library! « careercollegelibrary

Share your thoughts

