Skip to content

How it all began: growing into a career college library

July 20, 2011

My post today is actually a reference to a published article of mine from ALA-APA’sLibrary Worklife:HR E-News for Today’s Leaders.  I thought maybe having a post that talked about how I got started in this field would be an appropriate way to begin.  My start was interesting in that I got the opportunity to completely create the library I’m currently in.  I started in a big room with almost no material – awesome!  I learned so much from that experience.  I’m curious to know how you got started in your field.  Are you a librarian?  What was your first library position?  Do you work in education, how did you get there?  What have you learned from your first opportunities into your field.  Share your story below.  I’m amazed at all the paths that exist.

My article mentioned above was originally published at:
Meyer, Jennifer. “Becoming a professional : my experience to the MLS.” ALA-APA Library Worklife: HR E-News for Today’s Leaders, July 2010: http://ala-apa.org/newsletter/2010/07/12/becoming-a-professional-my-experience-to-the-mls/.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 21, 2011 6:34 pm

    When I started in my field there really was no field to speak of. I started out with a company called Evoca (yes, I can say that as my NDA has long expired) as the Evocavangelist. Taking a cue from Guy Kawasaki and Robert Scoble I was to enlist a community of evangelists for a product; the Evoca MP3 technology. I had no idea how to really do what I was to do. The year was 2007 and Facebook had not become what it is today. Twitter didn’t exist and blogs were the medium of choice.

    Since I first began I think what I have learned most is how to start from scratch. I have learned the fine art of creating, cultivating, and then leaving (so self-govern, of course) a community.

    • July 21, 2011 10:02 pm

      What an exciting time to be a part of something so new! I imagine that experience was stimulating and stressful. LOL. Thanks for sharing Drew.

Trackbacks

  1. Instructional programs in the career college library « careercollegelibrary

Share your thoughts

