Skip to content

Perspective in the proprietary college library

September 14, 2011

I believe in what I do.  I’m proud that I help to bring knowledge and hopefully insight to others.  I believe in education.  I think that’s why it is so disappointing when things don’t work out. 

I want to reach every student, no every person, with powerful information and show the truth behind the saying, “knowledge is power”.  I want to help others find the joy in not just answering a question, but exploring and pondering the questions implications. 

But you know what?  I can’t reach everybody.  Some don’t want to see those possibilities.  I must remember that they are on their own journey, and its taking them to their own place.  I must remember the other, more important parts of my life; my family, my friends, my own experiences.   

What about you?  Can you relate?  How do you handle that disappointment?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. GenY Librarian permalink
    September 14, 2011 6:13 pm

    It’s exactly as you said: realizing you can’t reach everyone is the first step to combat the disappointment. I take it personally when someone won’t receive the help I’m trying to offer, and I need to take a couple of minutes and just think “even if I couldn’t help this person, it doesn’t mean I’ve failed – all it means is that they weren’t ready for the answer.” And I work on growing my skin thicker, so that the frustrations of my patrons don’t become mine. I can empathize without taking it into myself, if I just make the transition from taking it personally to not.

    • September 15, 2011 1:54 am

      I love what you say, “they weren’t ready for the answer.” Brilliant. Thanks for sharing GenY.

Share your thoughts

