Skip to content

Looking forward – looking back

January 3, 2012

I have a lot of new followers!  Yeah and welcome.  I’m so glad you are here and that you found my blog, please share it with others you think might find value in it.

My post today is actually a reference to a published article of mine from ALA-APA’s Library Worklife: HR E-News for Today’s Leaders.  I thought with all the new followers and with the New Year that looking at this might be interesting for some.  The New Year is all about looking back and looking forward, so here is where I came from and how I got to where I am.  My start was interesting in that I got the opportunity to completely create the career college library I’m currently in.  I started in a big room with almost no material – awesome!  I have learned so much from that experience.  I’m curious to know how you got started in your field.  Are you a librarian?  What was your first library position?  Do you work in education, how did you get there?  What have you learned from your first opportunities into your field?  Share your story below.  I’m amazed at all the paths that exist.

My article mentioned above was originally published at:
Meyer, Jennifer. “Becoming a professional : my experience to the MLS.” ALA-APA Library Worklife: HR E-News for Today’s Leaders, July 2010: http://ala-apa.org/newsletter/2010/07/12/becoming-a-professional-my-experience-to-the-mls/.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lynda permalink
    January 4, 2012 11:44 pm

    Although I am not a librarian, my career path came from several opportunities by default. As a manager in retail, my store closed and I was transferred to another location. It took about 2 weeks for me to realize that the people I had been blessed to work with and the local regulars from my previous store were the reason I remained with that company for so many years. I was very secure having 17 years with that company; making a move scared me beyond words. However, staying at that new store scared me more. I knew I would be miserable.

    I ventured out and accepted an accounts payable position at a printing/advertising company. I took a significant cut in pay, at least in my world $2.00 an hour was significant. I had 2 young children and my husband had recently been through several lay-offs due to the economy of the 1980s.
    Within a few months, the person that moved internally from the AP position wanted her position back. My manager asked if I would be willing to give that position back and take the payroll position that she decided was not for her. I eagerly agreed although I had no experience in that field. Not only did my company invest in training, the move was also a promotion. Within a few years, I was integrated into the HR department, again with no experience. After 5 years with this company I had solid skills in payroll and HR.

    I did not know that this part of my working career was only to be a stepping stone.
    Because of the experience I gained, I was able to accept a position with another company that offered me nearly a 40% increase in pay and a substantial benefit package. Thank God I was willing to take that scary step years before, leaving behind my security in a leap of faith.

    • January 5, 2012 2:21 am

      Isn’t funny how life’s opportunities come at you. From seemingly nowhere. Thanks!!!

Share your thoughts

