Skip to content

Different library responsibilities

March 7, 2012

One of the coolest things about being a librarian is that so much can be part of your role.  I remember the realization I had in library school about how very big the library world really is.  It went something like…”wow! is there anything we can’t do?”  You see it all the time too, not just in career colleges but in every library.  How many Accidental Librarian titles have you seen?

Well I have been getting new roles for awhile and have worn all kinds of hats in my current position.  I’ve even written a previous post about it.  Recently I have been busy with the newest hat.  I have been given another (and brand new) title of Brand Conversation Manager.  Kind of a mouthful but it’s exciting, let me tell you a bit about it.

Little over a year ago I was invited to be the leader of our campus’ social media team.  Right now this is mostly keeping a community running on Facebook for our school.  It has been really wonderful.  The experiences from that are what gave me the courage to start this blog and I work with the most amazing people.  Late last week I was invited to the new BCM position.

My responsibilities will be to keep in touch with all the schools in NC, which ends up being about 14 or 15 pages.  Quite the responsibility!  I’m just so excited.  Technology is one of the thing I love most about my profession and I love to experiment with new stuff.  Plus this will bring some of the beginning social media skills and strengthen them with some more traditional PR/marketing/outreach stuff.  I cannot think of a situation that these skills won’t be useful!  I am so EXCITED!!!   🙂

What cool roles do you get to experiment with at your school??  What advice to you have for me as I add this to my current role of librarian?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 7, 2012 1:39 pm

    Wow, congratulations! Very cool new title (and responsibilities) you have! Look forward to hearing more in future posts!

    • March 7, 2012 2:27 pm

      Thanks Lesley – I am very excited about it too. I really have enjoyed these parts of my current role, it will be fun to explore them more. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Career college library branching out « careercollegelibrary

Share your thoughts

