Skip to content

Embedded librarians at the career college

March 22, 2012

Embedded librarian – I LOVE it.  It’s everywhere right now.  In fact I even went to a conference workshop on it last fall with the North Carolina Library Association (NCLA)

I can just see SO much potential here for the career college.  Can you imagine what a for-profit could get done with a few embedded librarians??  I have to ask – is anyone out there aware of a program like this in their school?  What are your thoughts on it?  I’ll admit I have a hard time seeing any negative and actually think if properly presented can make the library much more valuable to our administrations.  But what do you think?

Comments in three, two, one….

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Alice permalink
    March 22, 2012 2:14 pm

    Nothing follows the commercial. And forgive my cynicism, but I am only at my career college for accreditation purposes. I do not teach information literacy. I teach career development–employability skills. I like the idea and would like to hear more about it though.

    alice

    • March 22, 2012 3:11 pm

      No need to forgive Alice I think we have all been there. I would suggest that information literacy is an employable skill. Granted not everyone uses the same term but critical thinking, problem solving, and other essential soft skills are necessary on the job. Ironically enough they are also the skills we teach the least and are needed most. I have read through ACRL’s IL standards and AASL’s IL standards. My goal is to reach the AASL standards- our students here are not always getting them in K-12, if you know what I mean. 🙂

      Keep on keepin’ on girl, you do good things!

  2. March 22, 2012 3:06 pm

    On my Reference Desk shadowing shifts this semester, I’ve enjoyed picking the brains of the librarians I work with and otherwise visit with about embedded librarianship at Duke. By and large, they really enjoy it! A number of them have office hours in academic departments as well as in dorms. The dorm office hours are a new endeavor, and have had good results so far, I hear, especially in the freshman dorms (where connecting a face with the library and its services early on is a good thing!).

    • March 22, 2012 3:25 pm

      Woot! That is cool stuff right there Lesley – thanks for sharing. I envision something at a career college that would be more hybrid in its approach. Since we don’t do research (or at least some of us, the graduate schools probably do) the way Duke does what I see as functional here is a group of librarians that are “attached” to specific courses or subjects throughout a national environment. Accessible via a social networking platform (public, i.e. Facebook or private, i.e. LibGuides) that was linked to LMS classes. This is actually almost exactly what was described in the conference workshop I attended and I don’t have the name of the library doing this off the top of my head. Great stuff though.

      And to piggy back off what Alice had to say I think that the slant in every conversation should be about building employable “soft skills” I believe that is at the heart of information literacy anyway. A rose by any other name would smell as sweet and all that. 🙂

Share your thoughts

