Skip to content

Career college library branching out

April 3, 2012

When I began this blog my hope was to get a group of similar librarians together to share their stories and insights into being a career college librarian.  It has been a great time.  I have really found that I love writing and don’t get nearly enough time to do it.  In the next year my time is going to be stretched even thinner.

If you missed the post, I was recently given some new job duties.  I am so super excited about the new work I will be able to do with social media and look forward to sharing with you my insights on social media and library work in the career college.  In addition to those responsibilities I will also be doing some marketing work for a private school my son will be attending in the fall.  This program is incredibly important to my family and will prepare my son more fully for kindergarten.  If you follow at all on Facebook you probably know that he is autistic.  Well while that’s a wonderful blessing (and it is) I’m going to be spreading it a little thin the next several months…. what to do with this blog??

I don’t want it to go away.  First I like writing and second I’m only really just starting to pick up steam.  But there is just no way I’ll know how much time I’ll have to post and I do LIKE spending time with my family.  And then suddenly it hit me, guest bloggers!  

This is perfect because it will give others an opportunity to write and share their stories about for-profit college librarianship.  And I don’t think I’m going to stop with librarians, oh no, that would be much to predictable.  I’m looking at bringing in a whole group of people with insights and ideas on our little world of the career college.

So what do you think??  I would love, Love, LOVE for you to hit me up and give me a blog to post!  It will be so much fun.  Send me an email, Facebook, Twitter, whatever, I’m good.

Looking forward to hearing what YOU have to say!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Alice permalink
    April 3, 2012 1:01 pm

    Great idea. this can be Jennifer’s answer to the Huffington Post.

    • April 3, 2012 2:26 pm

      HAHAHA!! Awesome Alice and thank you. I look forward to a post from you soon then…. 🙂

  2. lindsayharmon permalink
    April 11, 2012 2:15 pm

    I’m a little late to this blog party (reading old posts is on my summer to-do list, though). That being said, I’d love to contribute a guest post. I’m a solo librarian at a stand-alone proprietary school, so some aspects of my library experience are probably a little different than many for-profit librarians, but just from skimming your posts I can also see a lot of similarities.

    • April 11, 2012 7:17 pm

      YEAH!!! That’s wonderful Lyndsay, thank you. Please feel free to send me something to post and maybe a short bio. My plan is to intro the new blogger then put up your post. If you include contact info (Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter, email, etc) I’ll be sure that is included too. I’m flexible with your topic – I would only ask that you make it positive and solution based.

      If you can get something 200-400 words to me by next week that would be awesome. Looking forward to it!!!

      Jennie

  3. April 17, 2012 3:26 pm

    I’d love to contribute to your blog. Our librarian and I over at ITT Tech in Cary have been working really hard to implement an embedded librarian program/department liaisons and improve our students’ information literacy skills. Let me know if you’re still looking for guest bloggers!

    • April 17, 2012 4:09 pm

      You bet Jessica! I think embedded librarianship would work awesome in a career college and I’m working on something similar here. Go ahead and write up a post about 200-400 words (not that I’m going to count) and send it to me in an email (consider.jennifer@gmail.com) with some bio info. I’ll post the blog and spread the word. And thank you for offering – I want this blog to grow but my time is going to be limited for a while. 🙂 If you get a post to me by Friday I’ll post next week!

Trackbacks

  1. Focusing on student learning in the career college library « careercollegelibrary

Share your thoughts

