Skip to content

Ebooks in the Career College Library

August 1, 2012

So did you read the blog post from the Librarian In Black??  Honestly, I liked it.  I know as a patron I’m very frustrated with the ebook borrowing process. 
Blah, they never have what I want and getting onto my device (which is a Nook BTW) sucks.  I chuckled reading Sarah’s post and felt that the anger was justified.

It got me to thinking though about the ebooks in my library.  I don’t really purchase any ebooks.  The ones I have are part of subscription services through LIRN or ebrary.  Since we don’t purchase them we don’t loan them and so there really isn’t much of an issue in my library.  I’m grateful that I don’t have the same challenges that public libraries do with this monster.  What about you?  Do you purchase ebooks?  How do your borrowing policies work?  And maybe more importantly what do you think of the Librarian In Black’s article?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 1, 2012 7:52 pm

    The important thing to note here is that NO ONE is purchasing eBooks – they’re just licensing them, which is the core of the problem as it pertains to our professional values.

    • August 1, 2012 8:15 pm

      A wonderful point GenY and thank you for mentioning it.

Share your thoughts

