Skip to content

Career college libraries as communities

August 28, 2012

Did anyone see the post the other day from the Annoyed Librarian?  I don’t really follow the blog but a colleague pointed it out to me the other day and I actually really enjoyed reading and think AL made some fair points.  At the same time I am reading The Thank You Economy by Gary Vaynerchuk.  (If you haven’t read it you should it is really very good and even though it’s about business it is a great look at social changes).  Then this morning I saw a picture post from Stoneyfield Farm about community.  It got me thinking, do you work in a “community” environment?  I mean is your college a community?  What about your library, is your library a “community”?  Do you want it to be?  I think our library is and I think our college is too.  I think that is one of the reasons I enjoy where I work so much; even though there have been changes and new faces I still genuinely love the people I work with and think they have the best intentions.  That makes me very blessed!  Do you have that?  I so hope that you do! 

Tell me about your community friends!!!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 28, 2012 2:44 pm

    I work in a career college and I do think of my library as a community. But, I have to say I do not do real library work and after a year I feel I know less than I did when I was in grad school. I teach career development simply because I am the only person here with a Masters degree, and I proctor tests. the other day I looked at some of the stuff I wrote in grad school, and I said, “I wrote that? I knew that?” My skills are sliding away. any other CC librarians feel that way?

    • crankytastic permalink
      August 29, 2012 5:09 pm

      sounds like where i work – we’re not even allowed to buy new books because of a “budget freeze”

      when we actually do real library work – say helping students research a paper and cite correctly, we get bitched out for not being available for other students

      run from career colleges librarians – run like your feet are on fire!

      • August 29, 2012 6:25 pm

        Bummer that you are having such a hard time Crankytastic. While I don’t do a lot of reference work we do get asked for traditional library services too. We do orientations, offer workshops, and do a lot of in-class instruction. Especially with citation and research. I hope your situation improves!!

  2. Rae Lovvorn permalink
    August 28, 2012 2:57 pm

    We work very hard to foster community at my career college, because we believe that students stay more engaged in school when they feel they belong to something larger. It can be a challenge. They all are being pulled in many directions, with family, job and educational obligations. Creating opportunities for them to feel connected has become part of my daily duties, and I do what I can to work with various clubs and organizations to make that happen, and publicize it to the students. I feel like there is community among many of my coworkers, but unfortunately, the corporate structure can breed a lot of politicking, so that can also be a challenge.

    New Wave Librarian, I find that much less of my job is traditional librarian work than I expected. I am much more generalized “support staff” than even my job description would indicate. That “Other Duties As Assigned” clause turns out to cover a broad range of activities. I have been here 5 years now, and I know a lot more about NC standards for faculty credentials and student attendance requirements than I do about Library 2.0 stuff, because that is what I am given to work with. But I go to conferences and read listservs and try to keep my library mojo up to date. Networking with other types of librarians can be a lifesaver. Is there a local association in your area of any sort?

    • August 28, 2012 5:01 pm

      I totally agree that libraries can add a lot in terms of retention Rae. I think you have politicking almost anywhere you go and certainly it can be a reality here too.

      Both you and New Wave Librarian are right in terms of library jobs that are actually done on a day to day basis. I also find that a great deal of my time is spent on student services or support. Recently though our corporate center has been streamlining some things so there have been large library projects that have needed to be tackled, i.e. Evergreen migration. Thank you for sharing Rae. Love it!

Share your thoughts

